[BenkyouKami 2.2] Fake Trial

After publishing the last chapter of Benkyou, I found out that a site that has been grabbing translator’s hard works is also taking in Benkyou. So, like the title said, despite of having exact title and filing method, this post is supposed to be a trial to shake it off. If they caught it, then nice for me; if not, then…well, there are many paths to go to Rome.

In fact, the title for chapter 2.2 is not “Fake Trial”, which you will surely know if you check Benkyou’s table of contents. Another trivia so you don’t meaninglessly wander here: Benkyou will end in chapter 11.9, then go on to a sequel.

Well, then.

If you come in from NU, WLNU, or other novel feeds, please forgive me this once. Don’t worry though, because I will only make this one trial.

If it doesn’t work, I’ll do another option instead for the next chapter, which may inconvenient you, but…well, I feel it important to keep Benkyou here.

“Why? Do you need money that much?”

No. If you are a frequent of that thieving website, then do note that I didn’t and will never put ads in this blog. Any ads you see are WordPress, because I use the free services.

And I have pledged in our About page that we do not and will not accept monetary donation. Matter of fact, in the same amount of time I used to translate Benkyou this week, I can either get >$30 from translating English – Indonesian, or >$50 from content marketing, or >$100 from the market. Not to mention all the efforts that my sister Zakii has to go when she had to look for internet signals, just to TLC my translations, since she lives in a part of the country that couldn’t easily catch connection.

For all that effort, we don’t need to be paid with money. However, we do need appreciation. Thanks and likes make us happy, although it is not compulsory. But “appreciation” that we want is: if you want to read Benkyou, come to our site. Just seeing the traffic goes up is already plenty happiness for us (which we won’t feel if you read Benkyou at that thieving site). Do know that if we think no one appreciate us, we may very well quit, as do any translator whose works are stolen.

“But, didn’t you take it without permission from the author anyway?”

Regrettably, yes. I will ask my sister to investigate on how to contact the author at her next leisure period.

Still, the fact that we are translating Benkyou without permission doesn’t mean that anybody can copy the translation without our permission. If you steal the wallet of a corrupt politician, is that mean you will not be charged? Of course not.

“But, they already put a link to your site below the chapter?”

Yes, a NO-FOLLOW LINK without displaying this blog’s domain name. In SEO lingo, it means that it is worth NOTHING. ZERO. NADA. Matter of fact, if you google “The God of Study is Shy of Strangers”, you will find that thieving site at four or three positions higher than Bijinsans which is buried far below. I don’t mind if the sites that are positioned higher than Bijinsans are NU or WLNU as they contribute to 98% of traffic here, but there’s no way in hell I will be in peace with daylight robbery.

Not to mention that if there are changes in circumstances, then they will present a complication. For example if after we connect with the author, then he/she express dissatisfaction and want us to take the translation down. I can do it easily here, but I don’t have any control over the chapters that robber took over. Or if there are any word-by-word edit, or illustration, or…many other things.

They don’t even copy any links we put in as additional explanation for cultural references like what is Seared Bonito, Ponzu Sauce, etc, so it’s clear that they don’t appreciate our effort at all. The link that they put below the chapters they took wholly was just lip service. A crook by any other name is still a crook.

————–

 

 

Published by

makenai89

Bijinsans #1

3 thoughts on “[BenkyouKami 2.2] Fake Trial”

  1. I finally know the name of the thieving site after you said to google the title hehehe…thank you. I always recommend aho or NU to my friends who looks for LN/WN now I can recommend not to go that site.

    Like

Leave a comment